moondh.blogg.se

Install mac os on new ssd for macbook pro mid 2009
Install mac os on new ssd for macbook pro mid 2009








install mac os on new ssd for macbook pro mid 2009
  1. Install mac os on new ssd for macbook pro mid 2009 how to#
  2. Install mac os on new ssd for macbook pro mid 2009 install#

It was chock-a-block in the store (week of iPhone 7 release). Just a follow-up on the RAM and SSD upgrade.įinally managed to get a Genius appointment in Perth city (Garden city store seems to be permanently booked out when ever I look?) Well, that’s enough chit-chat, I guess I’d better get ordering!

install mac os on new ssd for macbook pro mid 2009

In response to Leon’s comments, I appreciate that I may be able to save a few $$$ if I shop around, but I like the returns policy at Ram City, they are Australian owned/operated which I also like to support, they’ve been very responsive to my questions I’ve raised and they also have access to great how-to videos etc, so I’m happy to support them with my patronage. I did manage to take the duff HDD out for recovery purposes and that went ok, so fingers crossed for the SSD and RAM install. I’m quite happy using a computer, but I have zero experience in performing upgrades etc. I’m glad I can breathe a bit more life into it for a modest (in comparison) dollar outlay. Was also glad to here some positive comments from others who have been down a similar path (jaysee, Snowman, The_Hawk). Also hat tip to him regarding the loading of OS X onto the virgin SSD - looks like a trip to the Apple Store Genius Bar is on the cards for me! Quick shout-out to jaysee for pointing out that Sierra will not be officially supported on my Mac, but a quick search shows that El Capitan should still be ok on the old girl, so that’s what I’ll be aiming for. To show you my gratitude here is my favourite emoji for you to enjoy I simply do not know why this graphic was ever created, and that makes it all the more ridiculous and fantastic! Many thanks to all who took the time and effort to read and comment.

Install mac os on new ssd for macbook pro mid 2009 how to#

How to get the latest OS on a brand new SSD is another question which I may post shortly.Īnyway, I’m just soliciting opinions from those in the know here at AppleTalk before I hand over my hard-earned cash.Īny and all comments would be much appreciated. The hope is that I’ll be able to run El Capitan on it, and ultimately Sierra at some point in the future (I do appreciate that some of the newer features will not be supported do to hardware restrictions). It’s generally used on an irregular basis when serious work needs to be done - video editing etc or long-form writing and the like, or any time you try something on the iPad and it doesn’t work out.

install mac os on new ssd for macbook pro mid 2009

I should probably point out that while it is the only computer in the house, it is not a mission critical daily workhorse. SOOOO…My question to you fine people on AppleTalk is this: Will the $400 investment breathe a reasonable bit of new life back into my - lets say mature - MBP and give me a reasonable “bang-for-my-buck”, or am I just throwing good money after bad?

  • Crucial 8GB (2x4GB kit) PC3-8500 Unbuffered 294-pin SO-DIMM $88Īll items from and eligible for my Mac Book Pro (according to the website)Ī quick scan of the Apple refurbish store shows a 15" rMBP is anything from $2.6k up to an eye-watering $4.1k if you want all the bells and all the whistles.
  • Crucial MX300 750GB SATA 2.5" 7mm internal SSD (hopefully with 9.5mm adapter/spacer) $299.
  • Install mac os on new ssd for macbook pro mid 2009 install#

    I have a refurbished Mid 2009 15" Mac Book Pro 5,3 2.8Ghz and sadly the HDD decided to play silly buggers which left me up shit creek, as my back up strategy was not exactly bullet proof… or indeed up to date (queue the tutting, eye-rolling and finger wagging - all justified - and I hope I have learned an expensive lesson to the tune of ~$500 for data recovery)ĪNYWAY…I was hoping to turn this PITA situation around by taking the opportunity to install a larger capacity SSD and max out the RAM. First time caller, long time listener (inc.










    Install mac os on new ssd for macbook pro mid 2009